CARAGA Official Local Candidates 2013

This is a directory of official candidates for provincial governor, vice governor, sangguniang panlalawigan (board member), congressman, mayor, vice mayor, and sangguniang bayan (councilor) positions in CARAGA (Region XIII) for the May 2013 elections.

Political Map of CARAGA
Political Map of CARAGA

Caraga is a region on the northeastern portion of the island of Mindanao, designated as Region XIII. The The region is composed of five provinces: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Dinagat Islands; six cities: Bayugan, Butuan, Cabadbaran, Surigao, Tandag, Bislig; 67 municipalities and 1,311 barangays.

It is bounded on the north by the Bohol Sea; on the south by the provinces of Davao, Compostela Valley and Davao Oriental of Region XI; on the west by Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental of Region X; and on the east by the Philippine Sea and the Pacific Ocean.

The regional center of CARAGa is Butuan City. According to 2010 national census, CARAGA has a total population of 2,429,224 inhabitants. The 2010 counts was 7.86% higher than the 1995 population of 1,942,687. The annual population growth rate over the last five years was pegged at a manageable 1.63%, one of the lowest in the country.

CARAGA has a total land area of 21,471 square kilometers (8,290 sq mi).

The region has various tourist attractions including surfing, island-hopping, mountain-biking, trekking, scuba diving, spelunking, bird-watching, events and festivals.

Here are the lists of 2013 official candidates for CARAGA (Region IX):

  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Butuan City
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.