NCR Official Candidates for 2013 Elections

This is a directory of Metro Manila or National Capital Region (NCR) official candidates who are running for congressman, mayor, vice mayor, and sangguniang bayan (councilor) for the May 2013 elections.

NCR Official Candidates (Map)
Map of National Capital Region (NCR)

Metropolitan Manila, the National Capital Region (NCR), or simply Metro Manila, is the metropolitan region encompassing the City of Manila and its surrounding areas in the Philippines. It is composed of 16 cities, namely Manila, Caloocan, Las Piñas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Pasay, Pasig, Parañaque, Quezon City, San Juan, Taguig, and Valenzuela, and the Municipality of Pateros.

The term Metro Manila increasingly came into use after the creation of the metropolitan area in 1975 and is the de facto name for Metropolitan Manila. Metro Manila is often referred to as simply as Manila. It is very often abbreviated as M.M. or MM.

As proclaimed by Presidential Decree No. 940, Metro Manila as a whole is the Philippines’ seat of government while the City of Manila is the capital.[4] The largest city in the metropolis is Quezon City, while the largest business district is the Makati Central Business District.

Metro Manila is the most populous of the twelve defined metropolitan areas in the Philippines and the 11th most populous in the world. As of the 2010 census, it had a population of 11,855,975, comprising 13% of the national population

Metro Manila’s gross regional product is estimated as of July 2011 to be $149 billion and accounts for 33% of the nation’s GDP. In 2011, according to PricewaterhouseCoopers, it ranked as the 28th wealthiest urban agglomeration in the world and the 2nd in Southeast Asia.

NCR Official Candidates by City/Municipality

Here are the lists of NCR official candidates for the May 2013 midterm elections:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.