Region 12 (SOCCSKSARGEN) Official Candidates 2013

This is a directory of official candidates for governor, vice governor, sangguniang panlalawigan (board member), congressman, mayor, vice mayor, and sangguniang bayan (councilor) positions in Region XII (SOCCSKSARGEN) for the May 2013 elections.


The SOCCSKSARGEN is located in central Mindanao, and is officially designated as Region XII. Known for its acronym that stands for the region’s four provinces and one of its cities: South Cotabato, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani and General Santos City, SOCCSKSARGEN is more formally known by its older name Central Mindanao.

SOCCSKSARGEN has extensive coastlines, valleys and mountain ranges. Known for its river system, the region is the catch basin of Mindanao. The system is a rich source of food, potable water and energy production. Cotabato contains the Rio Grande de Mindanao, which is the longest river in Mindanao and the second longest in the Philippines.

Also known as Region XII (Region 12), the region is composed of 4 provinces, 5 cities, 45 municipalities, 1,194 barangays and 6 congressional districts. As of 2010, its population reached a total of 4,109,571 residents.

Koronadal City, which is located in the province of South Cotabato, is the regional center of Region XII (SOCCSKSARGEN). With a total land area of 22,466 sq. km (8,674 sq mi), Region XII is inhabited by English, Tagalog, HIligaynon, Cebuano, Tboli, Blaan, Cotabato Manobo, Tagabanwa, and other speakers.

Here are the lists of 2013 official candidates for Region XII (SOCCSKSARGEN):

    • North Cotabato
    • Sarangani
    • South Cotabato
    • Sultan Kudarat
    • Cotabato City
    • General Santos City



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.