Region 8 (Eastern Visayas) Official Candidates for 2013

This is a directory of official candidates who are running for governor, vice governor, sangguniang panlalawigan (board member), congressman, mayor, vice mayor, and sangguniang bayan (councilor) in Region VIII (Eastern Visayas) for the May 2013 elections.

Eastern Visayas Map

The Eastern Visayas region is one of the two regions of the Philippines having no land border with another region, MIMAROPA being the other.

Eastern Visays is composed of two main islands, Leyte and Samar, connected by the famous San Juanico Bridge. The region directly faces the Pacific Ocean. It consists of six provinces and seven cities, namely, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte, the cities of Ormoc City, Baybay City, Maasin City, Calbayog City, Catbalogan City, Borongan City and the highly-urbanized city of Tacloban, the regional center. These provinces and cities occupy the easternmost islands of Visayas: Samar, Leyte and Biliran.

Also known as Region VIII (Region 8), the region consists of 6 provinces, 7 cities, 136 municipalities, 4,391 barangays and 12 congressional districts. As of 2010, its population reached a total of 4,101,322 residents.

Tacloban City, which is the capital city of the province of Leyte, is the regional center of Region VIII (Eastern Visayas). With a total land area of 23,432 sq. km (9,047 sq mi), Region VIII is inhabited by Waray-Waray (Leyte-Samarnon), and Cebuano speakers.

Here are the lists of 2013 official candidates for Region VIII (Eastern Visayas):

    • Biliran
    • Eastern Samar
    • Leyte
    • Northern Samar
    • Samar
    • Southern Leyte



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.